Awards & Honours


one of the leading structural computational biologists of the younger generation.

Sarah Teichmann, research group leader at EMBL-EBI and the Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, has been recognised by the Biophysical Society for her outstanding contributions to biophysics. The Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators recognises an outstanding contribution by a person who has not yet achieved the rank of full professor. Teichmann’s nomination listed her as “one of the leading structural computational biologists of the younger generation.”

Stephan Singer, a fellow within the framework of the Molecular Medicine Partnership Unit, is a co-recipient of the 2014 Hella Bühler Prize. Awarded by the University of Heidelberg, the 150 000 euro prize recognises outstanding work by young scientists in the field of cancer research. Singer is currently working between the Medical Faculty of the University of Heidelberg and the Beck group at EMBL Heidelberg as part of a career development fellowship aimed at intensifying and broadening connections between the two institutes.

Tags: Awards, Bioinformatics, Biophysics, EMBL-EBI, Health, Heidelberg, Partnerships, Structural Biology

More from this category

Picture of the week

Scientists at EMBL Hamburg use specially designed mirrors to reflect and focus X-ray beams onto tiny crystals made of proteins or other biological molecules.

By  Dorota Badowska

Two X-ray mirrors installed in the macromolecular crystallography beamline P14 at EMBL Hamburg. The mirrors are visible in the photo as dark rectangular crystal blocks, with two metal holders supporting the crystals in a stress-free position. The mirrors are inserted into a vacuum-compatible stainless steel vessel.


Read the latest Issues of our magazine - EMBLetc.

Looking for past print editions of EMBLetc.? Browse our archive, going back 20 years.

EMBLetc. archive

Newsletter archive

Read past editions of our monthly e-newsletter

For press

Contact the Press Office