ELLS

European Learning Laboratory for the Life Sciences

Our inspiring educational experiences share the scientific discoveries of EMBL with young learners aged 10-19 years and teachers in Europe and beyond.

This article is also available in  English,  Čeština,  Ελληνικά and  Italiano

Exploration de l’évolution des protéines photosensibles

Aperçu général

Dans cette activité, nous allons utiliser des approches bio-informatiques pour étudier l’évolution moléculaire des gènes. Nous utiliserons tout d’abord l’outil appelé BLAST (basic local alignment search tool) pour identifier une protéine “inconnue” et découvrir des informations fondamentales concernant ses fonctions biologiques. Pour obtenir un aperçu de l’évolution de cette famille de protéines, nous alignerons par la suite des séquences de protéines homologues et explorerons la conservation et la variabilité des différentes régions de la protéine afin d’identifier d’importants résidus fonctionnels. Dans l’exercice suivant, nous apprendrons à construire un arbre phylogénétique afin de mieux comprendre la relation qui existe entre les éléments homologues, paralogues et orthologues et nous étudierons la relation évolutive à l’intérieur de la famille de la protéine. La dernière partie de l’activité permettra d’observer la structure tri-dimensionnelle d’un des membres de cette famille de protéine.

Exigences techniques

Cette activité a été conçue pour les systèmes d’exploitation Windows. Les utilisateurs de Mac pourraient rencontrer des problèmes de compatibilité Java lorsqu’ils utiliseront JalView et Astex Viewer. Nous recommandons l’utilisation du navigateur Web Mozilla Firefox lors de la réalisation de l’activité.

Pour pouvoir utiliser JalView et Astex Viewer, le logiciel Java doit être installé sur votre ordinateur et activé dans votre navigateur Web. Vous pouvez installer Java gratuitement à partir de java.com. Cliquez sur le lien suivant pour voir la procédure à suivre afin d’activer Java sur votre navigateur Web.

Outils bio-informatiques

MUSCLE (Multiple Sequence Comparison by Log-Expectation)

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/Tools/msa/muscle/
Un outil pour aligner et comparer des séquences multiples, particulièrement utile pour les séquences d’acides aminés.

Protein BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/Tools/sss/ncbiblast/
Un outil qui permet d’analyser des bases de données lors de la recherche d’une protéine. Il permet d’identifier des similarités locales ou régionales entre des séquences de protéines et ainsi trouver l’identité des protéines manquantes dans la base de données.

Uniprot

http://www.uniprot.org/
Catalogue d’informations sur les protéines, incluant des séquences et des fonctions des protéines.

Protein Data Bank in Europe (PDBe) 

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/pdbe/
Une base de données qui contient des informations sur la structure des macromolécules biologiques.

Glossary

Check out the ELLS Glossary for a growing number of bioinformatics-related terms (in English).

Navigation d‘activité

Topic area:  Evolutionary biology

Age group:  16-19

Author: Pavel Vopalensky, Eva Haas

Share:

Edit

ELLS

European Learning Laboratory for the Life Sciences

Our inspiring educational experiences share the scientific discoveries of EMBL with young learners aged 10-19 years and teachers in Europe and beyond.

This article is also available in  Čeština,  Français,  Ελληνικά and  Italiano

Exploring the evolution of light-sensitive proteins

Overview

In this activity, we are going to use bioinformatics approaches to learn about the molecular evolution of genes. We will first use BLAST to identify an “unknown” protein and find basic information about its biological function. To gain an insight into the evolution of this protein family, we will then align multiple homologous protein sequences and explore conservation and variability of protein regions to identify functionally important residues. In the following exercise, we will learn how to construct a phylogenetic tree to understand the relationship between homologues, paralogues and orthologues and investigate the evolutionary relationship within the protein family. The final part of the activity looks at the three-dimensional structure of a selected member of the protein family.

Technical requirements

This activity has been designed for Windows-based operating systems. Mac users are likely to encounter some Java compatibility issues when using JalView and Astex Viewer. The recommended web browser to use during the activity is Mozilla Firefox.
JalView and Astex Viewer require Java to be installed on your computer and enabled in your web browser. Java can be installed for free via java.com. Information on how to enable Java in your web browser can be found here.

Bioinformatics tools

MUSCLE (Multiple Sequence Comparison by Log-Expectation)

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/Tools/msa/muscle/
Tool to align and compare multiple sequences, particularly suitable for amino acid sequences.

Protein BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/Tools/sss/ncbiblast/
Tool which searches protein databases using a protein query. It identifies regions of local similarity between protein sequences and can thus be used to find the identity of unknown proteins in the database.

Uniprot

http://www.uniprot.org/
Catalogue of protein information, including protein sequences and functions.

Protein Data Bank in Europe (PDBe) 

http://www.ebi.ac.uk/pdbe/
Database containing information on the structure of biological macromolecules.

Glossary

Check out the ELLS Glossary for a growing number of bioinformatics-related terms.

Activity navigation

Topic area:  Evolutionary biology, Bioinformatics

Age group:  16-19

Author: Pavel Vopalensky, Eva Haas

Share:

Edit