EMBL welcomes undergraduate students of all disciplines in the natural sciences extending from biology, chemistry, physics and mathematics to medicine, informatics and engineering.

Undergraduates at EMBL

EMBL offers opportunity for undergraduates to carry out research at one of EMBL’s laboratories in Heidelberg (Germany), Grenoble (France), Hamburg (Germany), Hinxton (near Cambridge, UK), Rome (Italy) or Barcelona (Spain).

Undergraduate internships are normally part of student’s Diploma, Bachelor or Masters’ thesis project at another institution. However, internships outside of the formal arrangement of an undergraduate thesis are also considered.

EMBL has a large student body that represents more than 40 nationalities and therefore contributes substantially to the colourful life throughout our laboratories. Most of the students are enrolled in the EMBL International PhD Programme, whilst others joined EMBL as visiting PhD students or as undergraduate students and interns who will go on to join top PhD programmes around the world.

General inquiries

EMBL Heidelberg, Meyerhofstraße 1, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

+49 6221 387-8612/8896
+49 6221 387-8400


In order to apply as an undergraduate student for an internship at EMBL please directly contact the Group Leader(s) of your choice. Detailed information on each groups’ profiles can be found on the Research Units page.

The new EMBL Lautenschläger Summer School “Talents teach talents” builds on the strength of EMBL’s outstanding research portfolio and its long-standing expertise in the training of young scientists. This two-week programme will allow a selected group of undergraduate students from fields outside of biology (e.g. physics, engineering etc) to get a glimpse of modern day research in the life sciences.

EIPODs Inspire enables young researchers to expand their scientific network and explore cutting-edge life science research.

The scheme is open to students studying for a scientific master’s degree in an EMBL member or prospect member state eligible for EU Widening Actions under Horzion 2020. These are:

  • Croatia | Czech Republic | Estonia | Hungary | Latvia | Lithuania | Luxembourg | Malta | Montenegro | Poland | Portugal | Slovakia
EIPODs inspire logo (EIPODs inspire + circles)