Beamline ID 30B beta

The ESRF and EMBL Grenoble have long worked together for the provision of advanced macromolecular crystallography (MX) beamlines. Towards this goal we have recently constructed and commissioned a new tunable, high-intensity and variable focus MX beamline on ID30B as part of the ambitious UPBL10 project at the ESRF. The EMBL Grenoble beamline scientist for ID30B is Andrew McCarthy, team leader of the Synchrotron Crystallography Team, who commissioned the beamline and has been involved in the UPBL10 project since its inception.

lab equipment
View of the ID30B experimental hutch

ID30B is the newest facility in the EMBL-ESRF joint structural biology group beamline suite, welcoming its first users in June 2016. It is equipped with a MD2S diffractometer enabling data collection in both standard cryogenic and in situ crystallisation plate formats. The MD2S and PILATUS 6M-F allow sophisticated synchronous high-speed data collections such as 4D scans and synchrotron serial crystallography techniques. To facilitate the increased throughput foreseen, the beamline has been equipped with a new-generation flexible sample changer (FlexHCD) based on 6-axis robotics, that is capable of transferring pins mounted in both Grenoble and Unipuck-type formats.

ID30B is run as a collaboration between the EMBL-Grenoble Synchrotron Crystallography Team and the ESRF Structural Biology Group. See the ID30B webpage for more information on the technical details and the ESRF website for application details.

Synchrotron Crystallography Team

Reference publications

Theveneau, P. Baker, R., Beteva, A., Bowler, M. W., Carpentier, P., Caserotto, H., de Sanctis, D., Dobias, F., Flot, D., Guijarro, M., Lentini, M., Leonard, G. A., Mattenet, M., McCarthy, A. A., McSweeney, S. M., Morawe, C., Nanao, M., Nurizzo, D., Ohlsson, S., Pernot, P. Popov, A. N., Round, A. Schmid, W., Snigirev, A., Surr, J., Mueller-Dieckmann, C. (2013) J. Phys.: Conf. Ser. 425, 12001

Synchrotron Beamline Access

In collaboration with the ESRF, we provide access to seven macromolecular crystallography beamlines at the ESRF and an EU funded User Programme exists to support this access.