Molecular Medicine Partnership Unit

The MMPU is a joint venture between the Medical Faculty of the University of Heidelberg and the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL).


More than 100 international researchers, physicians and technicians from five different university institutes and hospitals (Department of Pediatrics, Institute for Computational Biomedicine, Department of Internal Medicine and Institute of Pharmacology, Institute for Human Genetics) and four different EMBL Units (Directors’ Research, Genome Biology and Structural, Computational Biology and Cell Biology and Biophysics) work in eight groups on important molecular medicine topics.

Diseases of mRNA metabolism (Blood Diseases)
Group Leaders: Matthias Hentze and Andreas Kulozik

Chronic Kidney Disease
Group Leaders: Rainer Pepperkok, Julio Saez-Rodriguez and Matias Simons

Chronic Pain and Homeostasis
Group Leaders: Theodore Alexandrov, Robert Prevedel, Rohini Kuner and Jan Siemens

Heart Development and Diseases
Group Leaders: Eileen Furlong and Johannes Backs

Iron homeostasis in health and disease
Group Leaders: Matthias Hentze and Martina Muckenthaler

Molecular Pediatric Oncology
Group Leaders: Jan Korbel and Andreas Kulozik

Stem Cell–Niche Networks in Ageing and Disease
Group Leaders: Judith Zaugg and Caroline Pabst, Anthony D. Ho, Carsten Müller–Tidow

Systems Medicine of Cancer Drugs
Group Leaders: Wolfgang Huber, Sascha Dietrich and Junyan Lu

Official MMPU Logo